Simpler Times

I think daily of my childhood

How simple everything was

In my eyes, anyway…

 

The world around me was probably busy corrupting

But I was a child who bled innocence

And I didn’t know rough times if they had hit me in the face

 

I find myself thinking of my home

The way the yard was set up as we played

The way my brothers face looked, untouched

I find myself thinking about how fast it went

Fearing that the rest of my life

Will fly fast as well

 

But next time, I want to look back on my life… with joy

Instead of wishing I was a child still

Instead of wishing all my responsibilities would wash away

 

I’m steady living in the past and future

Never really being in the present

That’s what I’ll regret the most when I look back

Image

One thought on “Simpler Times

  1. Greetings from the professor! Ah, yes, even though endless years ago the professor does muse on his youth. Manothunder how true ignorance is bliss dadblameit! Enjoyed the thoughts! Nicely written….

Leave a Reply

