It’s Never too Late

Image

At the young age of 24, I am still trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. I know I want a career in writing, whether it be for a magazine, newspaper, website, etc. Writing is sort of like the music industry in a way, you have to get your foot in the right door to move up the ladder. You have to be unique and different than other writers out there. It’s not easy but if you want it bad enough you just have to keep at it until the right opportunity knocks on your door. It’s funny because when I was 18 and went to college, I originally was going to become a teacher. I was always good at writing and was told by my teachers that I was talented but it wasn’t until my third year of college that my Journalism professor took me aside one day when he saw me in the hall way (after only having one class with him so far) and told me he gave me a 10 out of 10 on my article (which he said he never does!) He told me I was extremely talented and spent the rest of the semester telling me how I could be published one day. I then took a summer course with him for Magazine Writing which I not only did well in, but I also enjoyed it.

I feel that it’s unfair for kids just getting out of high school to expect to know what they want to do for the rest of their life. I know people in their 40’s who still aren’t sure. I guess it’s all part of the money trap though, which I ended up caught in with a lot of other Americans. You pay all kinds of money to get a degree then when you graduate, you have trouble finding a job. Most American’s now-a-days work, work, work and they end up nowhere. But I encourage those 40-something year olds and others to do what they want to do, no matter what age you are. It’s never too late to go back to school if you have to or take courses in something that will help you with getting a good job. I’m still convinced that we all (no matter what age) are still trying to figure our lives out and what we want to do to make ourselves happy. Happiness is the one thing we’re all searching for, we don’t have that much time here on Earth so I suggest you don’t give up until you find it.

Leave a Reply

