The Routine Life

Stay sane they tell you

Rise at the crack of dawn

Sit in traffic until you arrive at work

Stay sane they tell you

Sit at work and kiss ass all day

Just to make a dollar to live in the freedom land

Stay sane they tell you

Waste your day away

Sit in more traffic on your way home

Stay sane they tell you

Cook dinner for your family

Before you know it, it’s almost time for bed

Stay sane they tell you

For tomorrow will come

And it will be the same old story

I was thinking about all this on my way to work this morning as I was sitting in traffic. Some people are okay with this and do it everyday without minding. Me on the other hand… the 9-5 just isn’t for me. I’ve been doing it for years because I have no other choice but there’s just no excitement in it. It’s the same boring stuff day after day. I need a career with more creativity and freedom. Don’t get me wrong, the job I have during the week (the website) is great, I get to write articles and get my name out there. But it’s the office life that I’m just not interested in. After over 5 years of sitting in an office, I’m just over it. I will although continue to do it until I get to where I want to be. Suffer now, play later! If you’re feeling this way also, just know that it doesn’t always have to be this way. You can make a change in your life as long as you want it bad enough. The routine life just isn’t for everyone, lucky are those who escape from it.

Leave a Reply

