As Thanksgiving Comes to an End…

10 Things I’m Thankful For:

  1. My family
  2. My brother being alive
  3. Having a roof over our heads
  4. My boyfriend
  5. Mine & my families health
  6. The delicious food we were able to eat today & every other day
  7. My dog
  8. Bonding moments
  9. Time off from work
  10. Real friendships I hope to have forever, though there aren’t many, it’s about quality – not quantity!

Image

Getting together with family for the holidays really makes you realize how fast a year goes by. You see the little kids grown up all of a sudden and remember last year and how things were so different from how they are now. Think back to a year ago, where you were in your life and where you wanted to be at the time. This time last year, I had just booked my flight to California because I honestly felt trapped and needed to get away, by myself. I did this wanting to see new things and think about what I really wanted in life. At this time last year, I didn’t realize how much my Cali trip would change my life. For the better! I realized a lot while being out there and having time to myself to just sit and think. This is so important. We all get so caught up in everyday life working like animals not realizing that we need time to ourselves to enjoy the little moments before they’re gone. I came home from Cali a different person, wanting to eat better (I’ve only had fast food maybe two or three times in the past 11 months) and wanting to get rid of the things that didn’t make me happy, which I did. I realized that hanging out to anything that made me upset or hurt was not anything I wanted to hold on to. A lot of people are blind when it comes to certain things, others see it but you stay blinded trying to make excuses. The thing is though, once the blind fold is off, you feel that you can take on anything. My mind set is so much different now because of Cali and this is what has made me want to travel to even more places, so I can keep coming home a better person than who I was when I left.

Tonight, I listened to all my older family members talk about how fast time has gone and it makes me realize that one day I’ll be saying the same thing, hell I already say all of that and I’m only 24! My biggest fear is wasting time. I want to look back on the past years knowing I have done everything I wanted to do because one day you’re going to be at the holiday gatherings with your own children and grand children. My grandma said something tonight that really hit me… she said “Me and your grandpa created all of this.” And sure enough, I looked around and it was the truth. None of us would be there together if it wasn’t for them. I can just imagine how fast their lives has gone by and I know they sit there thinking the same thing I do, “where has the time gone?” Make your time here on Earth count.

Leave a Reply

