A Mental Makeover

ImageSan Clemente, California [Orange County]

A year ago today, I was enjoying my third day in California.. wandering the streets, staring up at the palm trees that surrounded me. It was my first time there and I had left New York to clear my head of a few things. I went on my own, meeting up with my aunt and friend once I got there. I was stressed at home and needed a mental break, which the 9-day vacation did. I came home with a clearer conscious and a mind more made up than ever. I had decided to eat healthier, which I did. I cut fast food out of my diet completely. I think I had McDonald’s two or three times in 2013. (Which is huge considering I used to eat it all the time when my younger body could endure it) I decided to leave a relationship that I found wasn’t suiting for me any longer and I was really proud of myself. I let go of the things that were weighing me down and I feel as though my trip to California really assisted me in doing all this. I came home a different person, and I was glad. I had many chances to just be myself and stare at the sunsets or walk on the beach and it opened my eyes to a whole new world. Sometimes all you need is to get away from the norm for a while… see new things and explore new places. I’ll be leaving for California again in 17 days and I’m counting down the days! I’m hoping that again I will come home with great new experiences that will shape me into an even better person than before.

A few more photos from my trip:

Image

La Jolla, California

Image

San Diego, California

Image

Mimosas in Dana Point [Orange County]

Image

Sunset Blvd. Los Angeles

Image

The view from my aunt’s apartment – San Diego

5 thoughts on “A Mental Makeover

  1. Jealous! I would love to be able to get away and escape “reality” for a few days. It always seems like I am bogged down with bills and too much debt to ever make that happen. I finally booked a ticket to NYC/Boston to visit friends for 10 days and I can’t wait. Hopefully my trip is as eye opening as yours!

      1. I will! I’ll be with my friends. If it’s only an hour you should meet up with us. We will be in Boston for saint patties day. You and I both know that sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

