Keeping A Journal + Journal Writing Ideas

dreams journal

You would think since I’m a writer that I would have piles and piles of journals, but I don’t. I have a few scattered in places in my bedroom, most unfinished. But I do have to say, the bits and pieces I wrote were still fun to look back at on. You read something you wrote two years ago to that day and you realize how much things have changed and how it almost feels like just yesterday that you wrote it. Whether you keep a journal that you write in each day, or if you’re like me and write memorable bits and pieces down to read later on, keep doing it. You will get to re-live all those moments some day and recognize just how much you have grown as a person. Some moments will be happy and will bring a smile to your face and others will be sad if you maybe had a bad day that day, but what it will teach you is that things got better, right? Sometimes we need that little reminder.

Some journal writing ideas:

1. My aunt gave me this idea a few years ago, although I haven’t always stuck to it, it’s a good idea for those who are committed to journal writing. Write 5 things you’re thankful for each night before you go to bed. You can write the bad things about the day also if you choose to, just to remind yourself later on that they probably weren’t that bad.

2. Write down the biggest highlight of your day. This relates to the first idea but doesn’t include anything negative. Even if you had a bad day, try your best to find something positive to write down.

3. Create a “Currently Feeling” page about once a week. Simply list how you’re feeling at that exact moment. Don’t explain why, just list them. See how the feelings differ or stay the same as the weeks go on.

4. A “Things I’d Rather Be Doing” or “Places I’d Rather Be” page. This is just a fun, day dreamy idea to let your mind wander a bit.

5. Write a poem or short story.

6. Write down a bunch of your favorite, motivational quotes.

7. A set of goals for yourself. Just because we’re a few months into this New Year, doesn’t mean you can’t come up with some new resolutions. Give yourself your own deadline.

8. Your bucket list. Where do you want to go? What do you want to do? What do you want to see?

9. Doodle. Draw anything that comes to your mind in that moment. Use magazine cut outs, scrap book paper and any other decorative items you’d like.

10. Create an F.A.Q. about yourself! Answer all the questions that people always ask you.

Have fun πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Keeping A Journal + Journal Writing Ideas

  1. Hi Chelsea, I love keeping a journal but recently I’ve neglected my poor tome. As part of my blogging I write down loads of ideas when I get a burst of inspiration. http://wp.me/p3DXUw-8k

    I also keep a poem journal which has also had a bit of neglect recently but I’m looking forward to getting back into that at some point soon.

    A bucket list is a great idea. Its just important not to put off too many of the items on it.

    Great ideas!

    1. Hello… thanks a lot! I’ve neglected my journals as well, haven’t even finished one whole book yet! I like your list of ideas also, the milestones and rants are good ones. Great to rant to a journal, it can’t judge you!

      1. Keep trying at the books. I completed one but haven’t published it yet. I think it needs a second draft to sort it out. Journals definitely don’t judge πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t keep journals. I used to only write about big events that happen, but then later on, I wonder why I write about the big events because obviously those are the things I’m probably going to remember years later. lol

    I wanted to nominate you for the Liebster Award. If you decide to accept, the guidelines are listed at http://cookingwithawallflower.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/liebster-and-sunshine-awards/

    Congrats, Chelsea!

Leave a Reply

