A Sit Down

Dear Lord:

I ask for a sit down…
A sit down with my 12 year old self.

Let me tell her to be better prepared for the curve balls life will throw,
Let me tell her to not set her expectations so high.

Let me tell her that things will be expected of her,
But she doesn’t ever have to do them.

Let me tell her to go after what she wants,
And to see the world through her own eyes rather than through photos online.

Let me tell her that just because she is kind,
Doesn’t mean all will be kind to her.

Let me tell her that one day she will become a woman,
Probably long before she is supposed to.

She will experience heartache and pain,
In ways she probably would never think of.

And one last thing,
I believe it may be most important…

Let me tell her that the only constant in life is change,
Things will forever change.

I just want to tell her that…
That way when she becomes the age I am now, she is better prepared.

2 thoughts on “A Sit Down

  1. Miss,
    I really enjoyed this! Your insight and candor were both refreshing. It gives me high hopes to know young women like you are taking the lead. You’re obviously well read and quite thoughtful, no doubt products of your upbringing.
    My best to you,

Leave a Reply

